Scholarships & Grants

THE PRESIDENT’S BURSARY AWARD is given to deserving Toronto classical guitarists (including the GTA) to assist in furthering their development as musicians.
Winners are chosen by the President’s Bursary Award Committee.

Application deadline September 15th.

Past winners of this award include:

Trevor Cooper

Patrick Teggart
Nevan Prostran

Adam Batstone
Shawn Pickup

Shawn Pickup
Emad Bagheri


To qualify, applicants must fulfil one or more of the following:

  • resident in the GTA for a minimum of two years
  • employed in the GTA for a minimum of two years
  • student of a recognized teacher or school in the GTA for a minimum of two years

Click here for more information and to download the application form.

Successful candidates must submit an expense summary showing how they have used their bursary.

The President’s Bursary began with a donation from Guitar Society Past President Harold Levy, and continues with the generous support of our donors.


The Guitar Society of Toronto provides three endowed scholarships at the University of Toronto in the name of our founder and artistic director emeritus, Eli Kassner. These are: an undergraduate entrance scholarship, a graduate entrance scholarship, and a yearly award to an outstanding performance-stream student.